Sweet Treats at Salt & Straw

Happy FRI-YAY! Unfortunately, most of my weekend will be spent studying for my impending midterms (my last midterms ever!), but before I hole up in a dark corner of the library, I treated myself to some scrumptious ice cream at Salt & Straw. I have been dying to try this gourmet spot for ages, but could never muster up the energy to drive all the way to the Larchmont location. Luckily, the ice creamery opened up a new location on Abbott Kinney a few weeks ago! So I naturally had to stop by and try just about every flavor.

 

saltnstraw

Photo via Yelp

Salt & Straw is known for its unique flavor combinations, such as olive oil & goat cheese (deliciously creamy and salty) or fig & sesame butter cup (like a gourmet pb&j). Originally from Portland, this revolutionary dessert spot takes ice cream to a whole new level.

IMG_5869

After trying just about every flavor on the menu, I settled on honey lavender and freckled wood block chocolate. Lavender is one of my all-time fave flavors, plus bonus points for the gorgeous purple color. It was delectably sweet, smooth, and bursting with intense flavor. It also paired perfectly with the deep chocolate. A slightly salty chocolate base gets even better with the “freckles” of dark chocolate mixed in.

IMG_5870

Keep in mind, this is a single serving split in half – you definitely get your money’s worth here! You can mix and match any flavor for under $5.

IMG_5873

Also taste-tested: salted, malted, chocolate chip cookie dough and chocolate gooey brownie. I’m a sucker for anything sweet and salty, so the cookie dough flavor definitely hit the spot. Chocolate brownie is always a classic – nothing too special about it though, especially compared to some of the other unique flavors.

IMG_5867

With plenty more flavors to try, y’all know I’m going to be back here soon! With such a prime location and amazingly delicious flavors, I can see Salt & Straw becoming a staple here in Venice. Or at least definitely a staple in my life!

xoxo,

Screen Shot 2015-06-06 at 11.41.32 PM

facebook (1)twitterinstagrambloglovin (1)

6 thoughts on “Sweet Treats at Salt & Straw

Leave a Reply

