OOTD: In Full Color

It’s been a while since since my last outfit of the day post, but I’m happy to be back with a look that I really love. Winter is usually the season for dark shades: hunter greens, deep navies, and chic blacks. However, I think this dreary weather we’ve been having is the perfect opportunity to make yourself stand out with a huge POP of color. The key is to stick to complimentary colors such as blue, yellow, and red, and then tone the look down with a neutral. I never shy from a bold & vibrant outfit – check out how I put together this look!

Aviary Photo_130977275955662375

I love the streamlined look of the bottom of this outfit: sticking to all black for the skirt, leggings, and booties makes my legs look long and not Hobbit-like as usual. My black Cotton On high-waisted skirt has been a staple in my closet for years (similar style here). Pop on a thick pair of black leggings to keep your stems warm and you’ve got a chic base to add color to!

Aviary Photo_130977276465182950

Nothing screams trendy winter style more than a gorgeous coat. When I was freezing to death during the cold Parisian December of 2014, I picked up this bold blue statement coat from New Look. It has not only kept me warm, but looking super fashionable! I especially love it now because it matches my hair so perfectly.

Aviary Photo_130977279634947332

I can’t forget the booties! I’m sure y’all have seen these Brass Plum shoes before in a lot of my other posts and instagrams – they’re just so comfy and perfectly neutral! They’ve definitely seen better days (European cobblestones + heels do NOT mix!), but I still love the look of a chic ankle bootie against a black pant.

Aviary Photo_130977277191516032

Now here’s where all the color’s at. I love the sapphire coat against this mustard yellow cropped sweater from Urban Outfitters (now on sale!). Both colors are deep and rich, so they stand out without being too neon. I wanted my makeup to reflect my outfit: simple, but bold. The perfect look? A super winged eye paired with a deep red lip (Outlaw by Kat Von D).

Aviary Photo_130977277615933945

I really hope you guys enjoyed this bold OOTD! Hopefully it inspires some of you minimalists to sport some color every once in a while 😉

xoxo,

Screen Shot 2015-06-06 at 11.41.32 PM

facebook (1)instagramtwitterbloglovin (1)

 

8 thoughts on “OOTD: In Full Color

  1. hantannablog says:

    Love the brightness of your outfit! And agree, we shouldn’t let dreary winter weather dictate our outfit. It’s definitely an uplifting outfit! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

