A Very Vampy Makeup Routine

In my world, makeup is a key component to a bitchin’ outfit. If your face isn’t meshing with your bod, your whole look gets thrown out of whack. That’s not to say makeup’s always necessary. The no-makeup look is kind of like jeans and a white tee: basic and comfy, but a little boring. So I like to change up my makeup routine as often as I change up my wardrobe. As Fall approaches, my style is beginning to change – I dyed my hair a deep burgundy, I’m buying more denim, and I’m testing out some heavier makeup looks. Here’s one of my new favorite routines using five new products I’m in love with.

IMG_4992

This look’s amethyst eyeshadow and deep red lips put a romantic twist on traditional Fall beauty trends. I started off with a base of foundation (Too Faced’s “Born This Way” in Light Beige), filled in brows (thank ya Dipbrow!), a touch of blush (Nars’ “Madly”), and a quick swipe of black eyeliner to my waterline. Then all you need are these 5 beauty essentials:

 

Becca x Jaclyn Hill Shimmering Skin Perfecter in “Champagne Pop”

IMG_4952IMG_4953

This exclusive, limited edition highlighting powder is the ULTIMATE “strobing” tool. Strobing is basically the opposite of contouring – to emphasize the planes of the face you brush this shimmer over your brown bones, cheekbones, bridge of the nose, cupid’s bow, and just under your bottom lip. It makes everything pop and catches the light in the most beautiful way.

Skone Cosmetic’s Eye & Lip Pencil in “Wine” & Bite’s Matte Lipstick in “Elderberry”

IMG_4969If you’re new to vampy lip colors like this one, the eye & lip pencil is perfect for you. Its full coverage allows you to wear it alone for a dark red matte look, or under a darker color like the “Elderberry” for extra intense layering. Both finishes are matte, but not drying which is the perfect find in the lipstick world.

Nicka K Eyeshadow Palette in “Sierra”

Dying my hair red really brought out the green in my eyes, so I’ve been obsessed with this gem-inspired makeup palette that intensifies my smize. The palette comes with four colors ranging from a rich amethyst to a pure white shimmer. For this look, I sweeped on the darkest purple all over my lid, layered on the next darkest color on the inner half of my eye, and finally brightened my look with a touch of the white shimmer in my inner corners. I brought the whole look together with a subtle line of the darkest purple along my lower lash line.

Josie Maran Argan Black Oil Mascara 

IMG_4949

IMG_5012I love love love Josie Maran and all of her argan oil products. I use her argan oil cleanser religiously so I just had to try her mascara! My little sister got the amazing eyelashes gene, so finding a mascara that really thickens my lashes without doing any damage is a struggle. The black oil not only nourishes your lashes to keep them strong, but the color is deep and rich (and the bottle is cute – always a bonus).

IMG_5006

I receieved a few of these products through Ipsy, a company that mails you a monthly goodie bag of customized makeup and beauty products for only $10/month. I’ve gotten some of my new faves there so go ahead and sign up yourself! It’s definitely worth it.

Thanks for reading and looking at my face!

xoxo,

Screen Shot 2015-06-06 at 11.41.32 PM

Leave a Reply

