Pigging Out at the OC Fair

Would you believe me if I said that in the 15 years that I have lived in LA, I never once made it out to the annual Orange County Fair? That’s right – self proclaimed foodie and younger, hotter Paula Deen (I mean, we both love butter) waited a decade and a half to indulge in the culinary delight that is fried EVERYTHING. I can now say with confidence that the fair will now be an annual trek and the day after will forever be National Food Hangover Day.

OC6

Does it get more American than this? Deep fried food, debatably safe carnival rides, and learning how the other half (aka farmers) live. You can’t ask for much more. I saw my spirit animals – pigs – basking in their own filth, a real, live camel, and what the state outside of LA actually looks like.

But what I truly came for was the food and it did NOT disappoint. Are you ready for it? Are you? *If I die young, bury me in the deep fryer.*

OC4

First up are these little balls of bacon. Whatever could be inside? The answer may surprise you: deep-fried pickles. The crispy, chewy bacon went so well with the juicy pickles, but the pickle to bacon ratio was way off. Perhaps a long, skinny pickle versus a short, fat pickle would have been a better culinary choice. I mean, I’m not an expert, but that’s just what I learned while at the Cordon Bleu.

OC1

UNF. This may have been one of the best dishes of the day. Piled so high with vanilla ice cream, whipped cream, nuts, and a classic cherry that you can’t even see it is a fresh, warm, gooey cinnamon roll. WHY HAVE I NEVER THOUGHT OF THIS?

OC2

I am a firm believer that some of the most mouth-watering food is the ugliest. Above is a picture of what looks like an ordinary piece of pepperoni pizza – not even a very good looking slice of pizza. But y’all know me better than that. It’s no plain ‘za… it’s mothafuckin’ DEEP FRIED PIZZA. You can deep fry anything and make it delicious, but this pizza started off amazing; garlicky crust, spicy pepperoni, and a side of ranch dressing (always a good idea).

OC3

If my arteries weren’t clogged enough at this point, I just had to try one of my favorite desserts, Reese’s cups, deep fried in some sugar dusted batter. Extra sugar never hurts and the fluffy batter added a new layer to the candy, but I was hoping for the Reese’s inside to be gooey and melted.

OC5

When I tell people I ate this double cheeseburger sandwiched between two Krispy Kreme donuts, they look at me with pure disgust. Well, to them I say: it was originally a triple cheeseburger but I took off some of the meat so it’s practically a health food now, ok? While not the best burger I have ever had, the contrast between the salty meat and cheese and the sugary-sweet donuts were a hit in my mouth.

OC9

Although I was in a total food coma after all of this food, I loved walking through the crowds admiring all of the flashy rides and games and exploring the unique cuisine that comes with traveling fairs. I know I will for sure be back next year to try even more heart-stopping (literally) fair food!

OC10

Hope y’all enjoyed!

xoxo,

Screen Shot 2015-06-06 at 11.41.32 PM

Leave a Reply

